Indoor Air Quality (IAQ)

Indoor Air Quality

As a part of our project, indoor air quality experts from the Florida Department of Health have been conducting assessments of stand-alone bars in conjunction with regularly scheduled sanitation inspections. These assessments utilize a variety of equipment: including a particle counter, volatile organic compounds (VOC) meter, and an indoor air quality meter to check for humidity, moisture, and other potential contaminants.

Establishments are graded on a pre-determined set of criteria which includes: temperature, relative humidity, carbon monoxide, C02, total VOCs, and particulate matter. In addition, points are given for passing the required sanitation inspection and for other actions management is taking to improve Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) within their establishment. Scoring Criteria.

All establishments receive one of the following grades and a detailed report that makes recommendations to remedy any existing and/or potential problems. This grade is a snapshot in time based on conditions present at the time of this inspection.

Indoor Air Quality

  • Grade A – Excellent
  • Grade B – Good
  • Grade C – Needs Improvement
  • Grade D – Poor

These and all other inspections are public record. This list is in no way meant as an endorsement by the Department of Health and Human Services, or the Florida Department of Health, or all in.

To see a list of bars and how they scored download the report: Indoor Air Quality Inspection Report.

EPA.GOV – Air Quality Scores

The EPA also has their own standard for measuring air quality (AQI). They calculate the AQI for five air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act.

  • ground-level ozone
  • particle pollution (also known as particulate matter)
  • carbon monoxide
  • sulfur dioxide
  • nitrogen dioxid

For each of these pollutants, the EPA created national standards to protect public health. According to their report the two pollutants that pose the biggest risk in the U.S. are — round-level ozone and airborne particles.

The purpose of the AQI is to help you understand what local air quality means to your health. To make it easier to understand, the AQI is divided into six categories:

Disclaimer: Enforceable standards for indoor air contaminants inside buildings are regulated by various federal agencies to protect employee health and safety. This Indoor Air Quality Assessment is a public service conducted by the Orange County Health Department for the purpose of identifying indoor air hazards, recommending possible solutions and to improve the air quality for employees.

The results of the measurements taken during this Indoor Air Quality Assessment reflect only the present conditions at the time of the assessment. They may vary according to the season, amount of people, type of activities performed in the building, maintenance procedures and other environmental conditions.

The IAQ grading system was designed by the Division of Environmental Health of the Orange County Health Department using all the guidelines and recommendations for indoor air quality from the EPA, OSHA, ASHRAE and other recognized entities in the field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *